The building which houses this world famous Museum was built in 1884. It is regarded as one of the best Anglo-Boer war museums in South Africa.
During the Siege it was used as a ration post for civilians, and afterwards served as a marketplace. The Museum in its present unique layout was completed in 1985. A diorama excellently depicts Ladysmith and surroundings at the time of the Siege. Various artefacts, documents, uniforms, firearms etc. are on display.
Weekdays: 09h00 to 16h00
Saturdays: 9h00 to 13h00
Sundays and public holidays: By appointment.